Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I live and work in NY but have a house in central PA where I spend close to half the year. I started riding this summer and have always loved Harleys, until I bought a Harley and discovered that I don't love riding big, heavy bikes. My Suzuki S40 was my second bike, and I'm looking to get something a little higher quality. At the dealer, the FZ was the bike I kept coming back to. I am here to find out if this would be an appropriate bike for a newish female rider looking for a bike with an upright riding position.

·
Vendor
2,394 Posts
It would be hard for me to recommend this as a first bike, even if ridden exclusively in "B" mode.
But it all depends on your comfort and throttle hand control.

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It would be hard for me to recommend this as a first bike, even if ridden exclusively in "B" mode.
But it all depends on your comfort and throttle hand control.

The only comparison I have is the Sportster. It's 1200 cc and I don't go crazy with it. That bike is fine as long as you go straight! It's like you have to work to turn it and consciously counter steer, where with the other bikes I have been on, you just turn by looking where you want to go. I've never been on a sport bike and haven't a clue how they handle.

·
Vendor
2,394 Posts
The only comparison I have is the Sportster. It's 1200 cc and I don't go crazy with it. That bike is fine as long as you go straight! It's like you have to work to turn it and consciously counter stear, where with the other bikes I have been on, you just turn by looking where you want to go. I've never been on a sport bike and haven't a clue how they handle.
In that case, please purchase a used Kawasaki EX500 for less than $2,000.
Ride it for a year or two and get comfortable on it. Then sell it for close to $1,500 to $2,000 and purchase a FZ-09 when you're ready.