Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
957 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, my name is Sean, I am 33, and I am from Pittsburgh, PA. I have been riding since 2008. My first bike was a Suzuki SV650. When I bought it, I was obese at 335 lbs. Learning to ride became even more difficult as a result. I made it a point to lose weight and after 5 years I got down to 200 lbs. I decided to try to reward myself by trading my SV650 in for a supersport. I got a 2006 Kawasaki ZX6R in May of this year. It was a decision I learned to regret because I found out after a few months of ownership that a supersport simply is not what I want in a motorcycle. The situations in which you can take advantage of their handling and power are too situational, and while I did do one track day in it which I enjoyed, I don't want something that is only good for the track since I like to commute. Basically, I want something that is a next logical step up from my old SV650 that has more of everything it had going for it, and doesn't have its shortcomings (most notably god awful suspension for anything other than commuting). Basically, I want something that is a nimble, naked bike with gobs of torque that is equally at home doing urban commuting, tearing up mountain roads, and doing the occasional track day, preferably without completely replacing the shocks/forks.

I made this account here because a friend is willing to take my Kawi off my hands so that I can get something more in line with what I want, and the FZ09 looks like it could be that bike. I am comparing it to possibly the KTM Duke 690 and Triumph Street Triple. So, FZ09 owners, based on your experience, is the FZ09 along the lines of what I would be looking for? Or should I look elsewhere? Thanks in advance! =)

·
Registered
44 Posts