Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here from San Diego, Ca. Nice to see a great FZ-09 forum! I currently own a 2006 Gsxr 600 that I use for track and canyon. I have owned a 2005 R1 and a 2012 R1. Fun bikes, but didn't really need all that power. I have been eyeing the FZ-09 since it came out. I actually almost traded my 2012 R1 for one. I have just the 600 for now, but I am thinking FZ-09 again. Never had a sit up bike, but it looks more comfortable for long rides and just as fun as dragging my knees in the canyon or on the track. How do you guys like yours? I hear it can use a lower bar setting.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Hello Franco :)

I had an R1 and didn't get along well with it, went the SuperMoto route, Husky 610, KTM950SM then onto the nakeds, Triumph Street Triple then the MT-09.
I prefer the more upright ergo'd machines, I can always lean forward if I need to, a flatter bar may be in my future, together with the suspension bits better suited to my size and requirements!
No track days this side, but for normal day to day duties and fun blasts, it's an amazing machine.
This forum is *full* of praise, and yeah, a couple of things to look out for, but this has been a great experience thus far!

Ride safe

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hello This my first street bike, I like the handlebars, they reminded me of my motocross bikes. I stiffened the stock suspension and is much better, this thing is a blast.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hi Franco. I know your feeling. I had an R6 and got very use to the lay down riding style and loved the look and stats of the MT-09 (FZ-09). I was very much surprised about how much I enjoy the more upright seating style. Your trade off is high revving power for raw torque, it has taken me time to change from high revs and humming engine to low rev punch. I read reviews that the FZ09 has more power than an R1, I will leave that to the individuals to judge.