Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Whats up guys,

SO I have been trying to enjoy the new bike as much as possible, due to a crazy winter here in Central Va its been tough....but I have managed to get 300+ mile on the bike now. Loving it also, one question though was wondering if anyone else was having this come up. After riding for while stop and go traffic when I come to stops I usually shift to neutral depends on traffic and light obviously, well when Im in neutral and go to shift into 1st it like clunks into and bike kinda jumps as expected...now Im no newbie and I have owned other bikes but never a brand new and I know every bike shifts it own way and all. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

·
Registered
734 Posts
Cold weather will make it worse .its oil drag on the clutches .had problems with my fz6r untill went back to 10 40 . Try blocking part of the radiator to get the temp up . Which was discussed he all ready

·
Registered
2,330 Posts
Adjust the clutch cable freeplay and the clutch lever rotation angle around the handlebar so it is most comfortable to you.

If this is happening after the bike has warmed up, then what is most likely happening is you are not fully disengaging the clutch. You may need to adjust the clutch freeplay to more than the manual recommends to bring the lever closer to the handlebar to put the clutch in a more comfortable position for your hand's strength. This is one of the reasons many use adjustable levers so they can move the lever in and out as desired to adjust to their hand while still maintaining the specified cable freeplay.

·
Registered
238 Posts