Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2016 xsr 900
773 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I spent quite a while looking around for an install on the FZ/MT/XSR for GP cartridges and couldn't find one. I'll share what I did to install mine here, it wasn't hard, took me about 1hr per side, maybe 3hrs overall if you include the time it took to remove/reinstall the front tire. These steps should be the same for the stoltec GP cartridge kit....same parts as far as I know. Perhaps Stoltec Moto will chime in and let me know if there are any major differences for installing his kits.

Couple of things to get out of the way upfront:
  1. I'm an amateur - I won't claim that I did this by the book, only that I'm satisfied that I did a good job
  2. The instructions I have say that you should set the oil level with the 'lower spacer' installed. None of the parts I have seem to be a 'lower spacer'. The only part that might be considered a lower spacer actually goes above the spring. As a result my oil level might be slightly higher than it should be. I messaged GP about this but they haven't responded, If I've done it wrong I may have to remove some oil.
  3. The GP 'cartridge installation kit' from their website does not include a tool to hold the cartridge for 'torqueing' the damper rod retaining bolt at the bottom of the fork leg. I didn't need this tool anyways, but your mileage may very.
  4. You will only need 1qt of fork oil - I did forks on my dirtbike and needed 2 qts for that - I bought 3 for this job just in case but didn't even use all of a single qt.
This is the build sheet provided by GP with my order:

·
Registered
2016 xsr 900
773 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)