Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys, this is only my second post on here but I always seem to just jump right in!

Just a little background, I've been a GM dealership Master Tech/Foreman/Driveability and Electronics expert for 34 years. I've been heavily involved with building/tuning/modifying everything from RV's to Indy cars for almost 5 decades. (Yikes, how did that happen? haha.) I've tuned all kinds of engines including Pirelli World Challenge GTS cars, Vintage Trans Am cars, high hp street cars, boats, supercharged PWC's, motorhomes, dirtbikes and now street bikes. Making vehicles work better hasn't been a hobby for me, it's been my entire life.

Anyway, one of my favorite things to do is making engines SOUND good. I don't think I've ever owned a vehicle of any kind that I didn't modify the exhaust on! My modified engine leaf blower even has a YZ85 muffler on it! My family is used to it, my wife still laughs about me cutting into the stock mufflers on her BRAND NEW 2012 Cadillac CTS-V Wagon THE DAY WE DROVE IT HOME! lol.

So recently my son and I bought brand new MT-09's. I instantly ordered the Akrapovic carbon system for my bike, obviously dropping ~10lbs or so was a big factor in that decision. But my son wanted to wait until his finances recovered from the bike purchase to order his Akrapovic system, even though the sewing machine sound of the bike was REALLY bugging him. haha.

So I looked at some of the pictures of the inside of these stock mufflers that you guys have posted online. (THANKS btw!) I didn't really want to do extensive cutting and welding on a muffler that we knew was going to be replaced by an aftermarket system soon. So I figured out how to make the stock muffler sound WAAAAAAYYYYYY BETTER without even taking it off the bike! (Geez, finally he gets to the point of this whole thread.) So here's how you do it...