Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just installed the GB Racing Cover Set, however my coolant started to drain out as I removed one bolt too many in addition to the coolant drain bolt and so the coolant started gushing out and mid-panic I stuck a bolt in to stop the leaking as I still needed to adjust the hose clamp on the water pump and ended up stripping a few threads from the coolant drain hole. I was able to finish reinstalling the water pump cover on it and so far no leaks and losing a lot of coolant.

Now I have a few questions, how difficult is it to replace the water pump housing cover or do I need to replace the entire water pump assembly? I'd rather not risk having leaks down the road due to a few stripped threads.

If I go the route of replacing just the water pump housing cover, what are the parts needed and can I do it by myself or should I take it to a shop? This is my first time that I would be attempting to do this so it looks like I would need to replace the O-Ring behind the water pump housing cover, the water pump housing cover, and a copper washer or 2 for the coolant drain bolt.

Are there any reputable online dealers for genuine factory parts and coolant or am I better off getting the parts from a dealer and having them do it?

·
Registered
106 Posts
Auto part Diagram Line art Automotive exterior

Part 11, 12, and 3. Personally if it is not leaking now, i would just keep an eye on it and ride on! If you are worried about it and want it replaced it is not hard to do yourself.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·