Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This thread will detail some improvements to the Andreani Group FZ-09 Cartridge upgrade (PN 105/Y07) offered by Forks-By-Matt (Pattonme) and some installation instructions for anyone that wants to DIY.

First up, I have ZERO experience with tuning or even working on motorcycle suspension. Everything I have learned from this is directly from pattonme's posts (including this thread from the FZ-07 forum) and PM's, rado's install of the same cartridges, and forums. It's not that difficult if you follow these steps.

The problem many people seem to have encountered with the very popular Andreani cartridges is that although the low-speed compression and rebound are greatly improved over the stock damping rod suspension, high-speed compression (bumps, holes in road, anything with high shaft speed) can be quite harsh. I got a very good price on the Andreani cartridges, but after pulling the trigger I read many of the reviews of harshness. Being that I am in Northern Ontario, Canada (read: frost heaves and lack of road-repair funding) the quality of roads around here had me concerned. The stock suspension was downright scary during spirited rides, especially for a guy my size (220lbs in gear). Figuring that I didn’t have a ton of money tied up into the cartridges (I opted for the package deal with Ohlins YA335 shock), I figured why not spend a small amount more and have them right from the beginning. So let’s get right down to it:

The Goods:

Proper cartridges with independent rebound and compression adjustment. Niiiiice!

The Bad: