Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 100 Posts

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went out riding today without my husband because he didn't feel like it. I started riding last August. I was on my bike in the winter as long as there wasn't ice on the ground. My husband has around 400 miles so far on the Shadow that I got him for Christmas. So, either I have been riding with my husband or with this pack of Harleys that we hang around with.

I was alone for one of the first times with this bike. Oh, and there was some guy in a car who decided he wanted to race me. I was definitely leaning on the bike and realized that the guy was racing me. We approached another light and I decided there was no way this guy was going ahead of me in the merge. I like fast cars and tend to drive like an idiot, but haven't translated that to the bike. Man, the bike took off like a bat out of hell and I nearly redlined it in first. He was gone and the bike was like a mile ahead of him in seconds. I had the time of my life riding this thing. In B mode. I can't even imagine what this would be like in A or Standard. If I am going to learn how to ride this bike, I need to get out myself instead of having my husband follow me.

This bike is sick. I also took out my Sportster for the first time since I got the FZ. In all fairness, the Sportster oozes torque and takes off and roars. Something was so wrong about the ride though. After maybe a few miles of just riding around, I put it right back in the garage and got the Yamaha. Now, the Harley looks great and all that, but I had no desire to ride it. I had the FZ out the rest of the day. This bike is so much fun. I'm looking forward to summer and riding every day.

·
Registered
885 Posts
Man, the bike took off like a bat out of hell and I nearly redlined it in first. He was gone and the bike was like a mile ahead of him in seconds. I had the time of my life riding this thing.
Such a hooligan! ;) Great reading, by the way.

·