Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was talked into going down to UMC this last weekend to get my first track day experience. Needless to say it was an absolute blast... I'm hooked. Now comes the expensive part. I just ordered the Ohlins 30mm cartridges and an Ohlins rear shock, K&N air filter, New pads and stainless steel brake lines, And am on the fence about a quick shifter and a Power commander for on the fly tuning of the bike. I would like to get the ECU flashed for multiple reasons ( fan temp, governor elimination, Ext..) My question is if I get the ECU flashed would a PC5 still be beneficial? I'm still learning the ropes in the sport bike world, any input would be greatly appreciated.
image.jpg
image.jpg

·
Registered
4,424 Posts
Awesome. Here is a story for you, my brother bought a FZ after riding mine, took it to the track, got hooked and ended up buying a salvaged R1 for a track bike. Moral of the story, save your money and buy a proper track bike that you can truly thrash on the track. I refuse to do track days after having a 20 year obsession with racing motocross. It was as expensive as having a heroin habit. I just can't do it seldom.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Good call on spending some coin on suspension, throttle, and brakes. That's the order I would prioritize in modification-wise for taking the FZ to the track (actually, put some crash protection for the bike at the front of that list). Quick-shifts and other 'go fast' parts are fine and dandy, but aren't super-critical. It's a track day; you're not racing.

And not that I'm some badass semi-pro or anything, but you may want to work on your body position. In your pic, it looks like you're leaning the bike over pretty well while you stay upright. Should be the other way around. You should be leaning over further than the bike (unless you're riding it supermoto-style, which is a completely different story).