Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Picked up my MT-07 a couple of weeks ago. Having a great time on it but unfortunately on Thursday I came off.

There's a lovely road (A1060) that runs from Bishop's Stortford down to Chelmsford that I have been enjoying over the past couple of weeks - don't suppose any of you live in the area and know the road? Anyway, I was on my way back from Chelmsford on Thursday afternoon and hit the left hander (UK so I was on the inside) that I always enjoy, just before Hatfield Heath. I'm a complete novice rider but the bike is so confidence inspiring I just went at it too fast. As I got half way round the corner I thought for a split second that I might swing out on to the other side of the road (where a van was fast approaching in the opposite lane). That split second thought coupled with the van scared me and I made the worst move I could have made... I slammed my brakes on. Before I got a bike I read about people making this mistake and always told myself, "Why would anyone do that?!" But in the shock of it all it just happened. Anyway the inevitable happened and I headed straight forward, across into the other lane and onto the grass on the other side of the road, wibbly wobbled a bit and dropped the bike.