Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am totally new in the whole new exhaust field and was just curious about it. Would you guys suggest a full exhaust? or just a slip on. What steps must I take to change out my exhaust?I just want a deeper throatier sound from it. Nothing over the top obnoxious. Thank you

·
Registered
1,370 Posts
I've managed to upset many people with this topic. So without saying too much or ruffling any feathers here we go..

IMO...

Full exhaust is easier to install, better tuned for performance and sound. In most cases also weighs the least.

half exhaust (slip -ons) require you to hack-saw the original system, give you good sound, but very little performance gain. They weigh less the the stock exhaust and cost less to get into. The only downside is if you ever wanted to go back to original you have to buy a new exhaust.

Most full exhaust systems come with sound killers to muffle out the excessive noise. If you decide to go for the high end, make sure you get your money's worth. Some systems look nice and sound nice but offer very little performance gains where as you can get different one that offers great sound & performance for just as much if not a bit more money.

In the end, you have to pick what matters to you, either sound, beauty or performance.

Just remember, there is allot of hype over what different systems can do or not do. Do your research.

Reactions: jmcghee41

·
Registered
4,424 Posts
The FZ has to be sawed for a slip-on, some bikes have bolt on silencers. I agree with Tunnelvision748 about pipe selection.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I appreciate your answer, if I do go with a full exhaust, will I have to get anything tuned along with that?

·
Registered
3,079 Posts