Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If discovered, does the Stoltec re-flash void my warranty? I'd like to know before I send my ECU off, since I paid extra for an extended warranty... Also where is my ECU and how difficult is it to remove?

·
Registered
3,842 Posts
from what i've read - yes it will - but the chances of yamaha discovering this is very slim - it's still a risk you'll have to consider.

Regarding ECU removal - read this thread http://www.fz09.org/forum/6-fz-09-general-discussion/1195-how-pull-gas-tank-ecu.html

I have to do this myself but i'm a bit nervous about pulling the tank and what not - I'm a mechanical novice.

Would be good if someone could post some step by step pics on how they did this to get the ECU out...

·
Registered
277 Posts
Don't get too intimidated about pulling the tank, it's really easy.

I don't have pics but I just did this last weekend in about 15min. Remove the right and left side "air scoops", to do this there are two push pins per side on the interior. Once you find them use something to push directly in the center of the pin and it will pop loose. Remove the two pins per side, and then remove the small allen head bolt on the outside, there is one bolt per side. Then gently but firmly pull the cover off, there is a "prong" that fits inside a rubber grommet on the back side of the pieces, if you can squeeze your hand up underneath while pulling you can feel it and help pop it out. For me the clutch side was much much tighter and required some force to pop loose.