Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long story short - local dealer changed tyres on my 09 after I got a flat.

I get the bike back and notice they've moved my brake lever setting. During the ride home I notice it feels like the lever is engaging further out than usual.
Have also noticed that I can stop from 60kph with normal braking levels without triggering the front brake switch. Which is obviously not correct.

Any thoughts? I'm no bike mechanic but everything looks undamaged. The calliper bolt heads looks like the pulled the callipers off to remove the wheel. Brakes don't feel spongy. Harder if anything.

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
768 Posts
Possibles:
Lever > They adjusted the lever to their liking for a *ahem* "test ride" and didn't set it back the way you had it.
Is the adjustment wheel at a different # now? Easy fix. Push the lever away from the grip and rotate it to a diff. # setting, making sure the number desired is right at the triangle shaped pointer.
Light switch > They picked the front of the bike up with straps around the handlebars and a hoist/come-along to change the front tire and the strap dislodged or broke the brake light wire.
See FJRider and then Beck's advice.

Reactions: DNFDOUG

·
Registered
962 Posts
Try pressing the rear brake. If the brake light doesn't seem to come on - then you may have a switch stuck on, not off. I've had a couple of bikes come back from different dealers that way. Try both brakes and listen to see if you hear the switch for one. If you don't hear it for one - then loosen it's adjuster. Check it's wiring connections also...

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well, they refused to admit it could be anything below the handlebars causing the issue.

Said it was my levers. I have FP Racing levers on it that I love.