Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure what I picked up but definitely have a flat. Did 160 mile ride today and stopped near home. Heard a slight hiss... thought it may have been one of the fans cooling the motor... got home, parked in my garage, went the store and came back a few hours later.... flat tire.

Not sure what to do.... Im a noob and have never changed a motorcycle tire. Can I use a can of fix-a-flat for a temporary fix to take it in and get it patched? Doe the fix-a-flat negate a shops ability to patch a hole? Is fix-a-flat not a good idea since it could be a recurring issue and I sure as hell don't want to run into another flat while riding? Take it in to get it fixed by way of a truck? Any help is appreciated. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
4,424 Posts
Would you trust your life to a plugged tire, because that is exactly what you would be risking if it gives way in a turn. The hole is made larger for the plug, and if it pops out, you may die, period. I only plug a tire to get to a dealership if on a roadtrip, and I will buy a new tire.

I have sucked it up and bought many a new tire because of punctures. Am I happy about it? No, it pisses me off. I had a tire one day that I had to replace, it is just a fact when it comes to safety.

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Would you trust your life to a plugged tire, because that is exactly what you would be risking if it gives way in a turn. The hole is made larger for the plug, and if it pops out, you may die, period. I only plug a tire to get to a dealership if on a roadtrip, and I will buy a new tire.

I have sucked it up and bought many a new tire because of punctures. Am I happy about it? No, it pisses me off. I had a tire one day that I had to replace, it is just a fact when it comes to safety.