Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I am heavily considering picking this bike up next spring but understand a lot of people dont recommend this bike to a beginner. I'm kind of confused where I stand. I'm 25 and I just started riding earlier in the year on a ninja 250.. and I put about 1000 miles on her. I took the msf course before prior to obtaining my license. My confidence on the 250 rose considerably and already feel the need for something more. I'm going to put a lot of miles on w.e bike I end up with next year and will be commuting with it a lot. Admittedly, obviously, I'm still a noob and am learning every time I jump on.. but definitely feel that I ironed out the basics of the basics on my 250.

If I did pick up the fz-09 I would be smart and cool headed. I would keep it in B mode for probably the whole season and understand how important controlling that throttle is. I feel like Im ready and smart enough to jump on an fz-09 but still would like to hear seasoned riders opinions. I feel I can grow with this bike over the next 3+ years. Can 1 season on a 250 be adequate enough to try something like the fz-09?

Also off-topic question. Lots of people call this bike a hooligan bike.. rightfully so. Would a non-hooligan be wasting their time on this bike? I have no intentions of hooligan riding.. mostly commuting, around town and hopefully finding some twisties eventually. The looks, power all over the place and price all attract me.. but don't plan on doing wheelies up and down the freeway or any other stunts. Aggressive riding, sure. But no stunts, etc.

Thanks all!

·
Registered
418 Posts