Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've not done any research yet, because I wanted to get an idea of the community's take on cold-weather tires. Are they necessary? Are they worth it to have another set of wheels? On my car I have my summer set and my winter set. Weather here can get down to below zero once in a great while, but mostly sits around the freezing or just below freezing during winter. I'm not necessarily planning on doing much riding in the colder weather, but if I do, I want to make sure I've got some good knowledge on tire set ups.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
4,424 Posts
Spare wheels and tires would be exorbitant. I always use the same tires year round. Motorcycle tire manufacturers do not make summer and winter tires, only tires for different types of riding as in rain, mud, track, etc. I am not one to ride in extreme cold unless I am in another country and get caught out.

·
Registered
3,008 Posts
My cold weather tires are where they belong, on my car. ;)

There are some freaky tough riders that street ride in low temps, but wind chill charts don't do justice to how fast heat will leave you on the street. You are basically just sitting on the bike, not excising enough to generate heat and circulate it like you would while hiking on a windy day etc.

Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

·
Registered
22 Posts
My cold weather tires are where they belong, on my car. ;)

There are some freaky tough riders that street ride in low temps, but wind chill charts don't do justice to how fast heat will leave you on the street. You are basically just sitting on the bike, not excising enough to generate heat and circulate it like you would while hiking on a windy day etc.
Babies lol. Michelin pilot road 3 for winter, wet, dry, great street tire.

Btw I highly suggest Gerbings heated gear. Makes winter riding fun.

·
Registered
22 Posts