Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody,
I am about to finish my first 1000 mi :). I really love this bike.
INCREDIBLE forum here ;)
I would like to ask you about the strange sensation for clutch + gearbox. Since first day, I noticed that it is almost imposible to engage first gear without hearing that CLANK noise !!!.....and it is difficult to change without any noise. I have been riding motorcycles for more than 30 years and I like to change softly....without noises :(
I noticed that it is softer if you change in upper rpms...But it is like the clutch doesn’t disengage enough. That noise decreases a little if you tighten a little more your clutch cable....(being careful not tight too much to make it slip )... That, gives me the idea that the clutch drum, doesn’t open enough to free the discs (if you have seen that motorcycle beautiful piece, you know what I’m talking about). It is known that oil quality also affects this. Mine carries the original Yamalube btw.
What do you think about it? Does the fact of making more miles, reduce this “CLANK”, as they gradually wear? What’s the opinion of riders who have rideen more their bikes?

Please, sorry for my English, I hope I have been clear.
I am looking forward to receiving your answers.

·
Registered
1,575 Posts
Welcome to the Machine! :cool:
Indeed, the Forum is the place for answers. Others will better answer this than me.
FYI... I'm running synthetic Yamalube... still noisy.

·
Registered
429 Posts
Same on my bike. I'm sure its normal

Reactions: cthouse

·
Registered
616 Posts
1k, have you changed your oil yet? How is the cable adjustment? You can always start it in gear, or start in neutral, shut down, put in gear, then re-start. In your years of riding, have you ridden a current Yamaha? I think this is pretty normal. I've got 8k on mine and first is still abrupt.

·
Registered
218 Posts