Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

Which coating color would look best on the 09?

• Black

Votes: 8 42.1%
  • Silver

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Titanium

Votes: 6 31.6%
  • Polish

Votes: 3 15.8%
  • Gold

Votes: 2 10.5%
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I finally decided on exhaust for my bike and went with Yoshimura R77. It will be here Monday and I am going to get it ceramic coated. Looking for opinions on color:

CERAMIC COATING.jpg

·
Registered
155 Posts
Black

Reactions: Steve101

·
Registered
4,498 Posts
Titanium

It will get tiny pock marks in it from road debris. Titanium will hide it, black will not.

I have a lot of experience with ceramic.

Also keep in mind, there is a lot of black on this bike, using black ceramic that is close to, but not a match, for the other black, could look goofy. I always try to either match perfectly, or make it an intentional mismatch, that compliments the bike.

Think about how the silencer is attached to the header/midpipe as well. If there is a long connecting pipe that is permanently attached to the silencer, that could be a problem. The ceramic typically goes into an oven to cure, you don't want say a carbon fiber silencer in that oven. The coater will not place a carbon silencer in that oven. That means disassembling the silencer to disconnect that connecting pipe, so that it can be coated, then reassembled afterward.

I see the end cap on the motor side is stainless, and a 3-4" pipe attached to the silencer. Your choices are:

Air cure ceramic
Don't coat the end of the silencer
Disassemble the silencer to separate the end cap, coat, then re-rivet

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks fizzer. I was just thinking about that end cap issue. I assume that re-riveting would not be too difficult given the fact that the packing material is supposed to be changed and that requires removing the rivets and replacing them. You also make two good points on the black coating.