Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I test rode an FZ-09 on Saturday just for kicks and instantly fell in love. I currently have a 2009 Honda CBR600RR with 3k miles. I'm seriously considering picking up the FZ, definitely this week. This will be my first purchase of a new vehicle (ever), so I've got zero dealership experience since I've always bought from private sellers. I didn't commit to anything with my dealer this Saturday but asked him to give my bike a quick look over and get my a trade in value for it as well as an OTD price. He told me $4,000 for mine, and $4,000 on top of it and I can ride off with a brand new FZ-09. I thanked him and left. That puts the FZ-09 at around $8,000 total. How much room for negotiation is there on these bikes? They have a couple in stock and a test bike as well. Also, is it worth considering buying a test bike with under 300 miles or has it been thrashed and isn't worth the savings? I didn't beat on it but I'm not sure if others are as considerate as I was.

Thanks!

·
Registered
4,498 Posts
I paid $7890 cash OTD for mine, and that was a solid price. I'd sell the 600RR yourself. With what you are losing on trade, the 09 is TRULY costing you about $10k. That is not a good deal.

·
Banned
3,470 Posts
You're obviously Not located in California or Florida. I don't believe Any new FZ-09's sold even close to $8k. Dealers in the Sunbelt had been adding Freight, Set-up, a Stealers Fee, Doc Fee, even Title Fee, lol. Most in the Sunbelt earlier this year were OTD much closer (and beyond) $9k.

I'd stick to the New one, and don't be surprised if they insist on a premium for the Rapid Red since it's the Fastest of the three
colors :cool:

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·