Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’m a beginner and not familiar with all the jargon and technical terms, so bear with me please.

1. Just got the valve cover thingy off, checked clearances for cyl 1 (out of spec), and as I went to rotate for cyl 2 I lost track of how far I’d rotated, and without thinking i rotated the flywheel (?) backwards (clockwise) again quite a bit.. did I do any sort of damage here or is it fine to crank (?) both ways?

2. When I’m done and closing it all up do I have to position the cylinders in any sort of way, or do I just leave it as is (which is probably on cyl 3). Mind you I won’t be adjusting them myself, but I’m curious.

Thanks. Without this forum there’s no chance I’d have come this far on my own, so keep sharing, so beginners like me can learn too.

·
Registered
2016 xsr 900
1,029 Posts
it is unlikely that you broke anything, especially if you did not hear any bad sounds, or use excessive force. The reason you are only supposed to turn the engine one direction is that there are Guides & a cam chain tensioner that are 'designed' for the chain to have all its slack on one side, and for the chain to move one direction. When you spin the motor backwards you have a mechanical advantage that is being used to force the slack out of the side of the chain where it was designed to be, which in theory could cause something to break. I've never personally heard of or seen this happen, but in the future it is best to just keep going 'forwards' until you get back to the proper place.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
you need to buy a service manual if your going to play with things like this, yes the motor needs to have cyl 1 at tdc when you reinstall the cams.
Thanks. I have the service manual on PDF. So if I just keep rotating the flywheel I'll cycle through the cylinders and end up back at cyl 1?

·
Registered
2016 xsr 900
1,029 Posts