Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw a helmet lock/bracket on eBay that attaches under the seat and is basically a flat hook for the d ring of a helmet. Anyone have experience with these? Do they secure the helmet well enough that somebody couldn't remove it w/o cutting the strap?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
198 Posts
Sorry to make thread go sideways. I have no experience with that one. But I would encourage you to google motion pro helmet locks. Sorry I can't paste link from my phone for some reason. If you grab the one from fleabay make sure you post up a review please.

·
Registered
4,424 Posts
One of our forum members designed this back when the bike was first introduced. The DYI is on a thread here somewhere. It requires removing the seat every time you need to use it. Simple, effective, but a pain to use.

·
Registered
1,135 Posts
One of our forum members designed this back when the bike was first introduced. The DYI is on a thread here somewhere. It requires removing the seat every time you need to use it. Simple, effective, but a pain to use.
If a thief wants your helmet enough he may just grab the seat and give it a yank upward, knowing seat locks aren't the strongest. If he's successful the helmet will be gone and the lock no longer working. I don't thing cutting straps is an option for thieves as the straps are not replaceable. Am I wrong?

Reactions: DNFDOUG

·
Registered
558 Posts
That's almost identical to the factory ones on my dad's Versys. PITA but they work. I'm surprised Yamaha didn't do something like that from the factory, preferably one on each side

·
Registered
158 Posts
I have one of the eBay ones on my bike and seems secure enough. I am sure if a thief wanted your helmet bad enough they could find a way to get it off of there but I haven't yet.

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·