Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
been reading here since maybe march or something like that while collecting infos about the FZ,
now that I'm a very happy owner since 1 month why not become a member of the Fz09 family.

This is my first bike in ten years and my first new bike ever, what can I say else than H--y S--t this feels good to be back on 2 wheels.
I thought my old cbr900 was a fun bike... the FZ feels so much stronger.

So far I did a few mods.

Protaper RM low with small oxford bar-ends
Cheap ass chineese led blinkers w relay and blinker genie for the front
Puig sport flyscreen
Zero dollar render eliminator mod, not the best but looks much better than stock.

And bought some gear like a santuary jacket and short gloves, Arai helmet is pretty old but in good shape, so this will wait till my wallet grows back to it's usual size.

I'm not a suspension expert, but at 200 pounds, I can tell this thing needs work, for now I'll go the zx10 shock and new fork spring and oil.
I also plan dropping the front maybe 1/4-3/8 just to lean a little bit more foward.

So that's it, I'm back as a motorcyclist and very happy about it.

Reactions: cthouse

·
Banned
3,470 Posts
Welcome. Glad you decided to post. :eagerness:

You might want to look into replacing that helmet -- Word on The Street is that they are essentially worthless after 5 years....others will chime in on this one, but there are plenty On Sale/Closeouts if you search the internet. Better safe than sorry. Many Closeouts in Arei, Shoei, and Scorpion at Revzilla and Amazon.

Please, this is one that probably shouldn't wait.....you can get a decent helmet $150-250 to hold you awhile. :cool:

·
Registered
78 Posts
Congrats and welcome to the forum. I still have my 98'CBR900RR. What year did you have?

·
Banned
3,470 Posts
If he wanted the Fastest FZ-09 he got a Red One;)

·
Registered
420 Posts
Welcome. Glad you decided to post. :eagerness: