Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, folks. I've been lurking for a bit as I toss around the idea of acquiring an FZ-09. A little background… I'm 40 years old and I've been riding for nearly 20 years. I've purchased new and used and have owned around a dozen street bikes. I've had everything from 1900cc cruisers to 250cc sport bikes to a Harley V-Rod to a Hayabusa and a ZX-14. Sprinkled in there were a number of other bikes. I would consider myself "good" for an average rider or "very average" for a good rider. I've learned what works for me and what doesn't. I've crashed a bike at a fairly high speed, and I've laid a couple down at low speed. I've ridden in rain and sun and wind and darkness and temps from 30 degrees on up to 105 degrees. Basically what I'm saying is that I'm a fairly "average" with skills that are based more on simple time and experience rather than any sort of special skill. I'm not a track star by any stretch. I'm also not a small guy… 6'2" and about 235 lbs.

I see a lot of conversation that is going back and forth here on the forum. Some people bash the bike has having terrible suspension and twitchy fueling. Others love the bike and think it can do no wrong. As I don't currently own the bike, I'd like to give my unbiased since I have no strong allegiance one way or another. As they say about opinions and assholes… take what I have to say in any manner you like. Keep in mind that all it takes to post up your opinion on the internet is one function finger and a computer… brain cells are not required so take whatever you read with a grain of salt. ;)