Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everybody,

I've been a "lurker" for the past few weeks now, checking out active topics almost every day. At this point, I thought I might commit to making account so that I can actively participate in the forum. I can tell that there are great people here, and I'd be honored to be part of the community.

A little background information on myself: My name is Max, I'm currently 21 years old, and currently in Arizona to finish up college. I grew up in the same house on the California coast for all of my life, and plan to move back there as soon as I'm done with my acquiring my degree. I started riding when I was 17 years old, with a 1991 Suzuki GSX1100G. It was heavy, but it was fast. Unfortunately, the excitement of riding blinded me from making a decent craigslist decision - I bought the bike with 77,000 miles on it, and rode it for about 8,000 more before selling it for a 1995 Kawasaki Vulcan 800. I wanted to try something new, so I rode that cruiser for 2 years before moving away to college, at which point I sold the bike so that I could pay for college expenses.

Fast forward to current day. One thing I've learned from my college experience is that I absolutely cannot live without a bike. So, last September, I bought myself a little 1977 Suzuki GS400 with 6,000 miles for $500. I've been working in my apartment complex's garage with limited tools since then, customizing it to the best of my ability (with the help of a Clymer's manual). While I've had an absolute blast working on the bike, I need something modern. Something fast.