Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it going to (or would it) be possible to get the Aluminum/silver colored fork shrouds here in the U.S. like on the MT-09? The gold is the only thing bothering me.

·
Super Moderator
5,700 Posts
I'm not sure exactly what you are referring to....the fork shrouds! If you are referring to the upper fork tube, I seriously doubt that will be optional in color. I've been riding for 42 years and I've never seen that as an option for a motorcycle unless there is a "R" version produced that most like will have Ohlins forks on it from the factory......and guess what.......Ohlins forks are......GOLD! The fork tubes are anodized aluminum and since I don't know much about that kind of stuff, maybe there is a possibility that you could take the forks off over the winter and disassemble them and have the tubes anodized to a different color. I would say that it would be pretty expensive.

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, not as an option but a replacement. I'm just wondering if it would be possible to replace just the upper fork tube or shroud that is gold anodized with the EU silver ones, not the whole forks. I have a buddy that can rebuild forks, seen him fix some jacked-up ones after crashes. Can/would it be possible to order those from Europe?

Attachments

·
Registered
300 Posts
Yeah, not as an option but a replacement. I'm just wondering if it would be possible to replace just the upper fork tube or shroud that is gold anodized with the EU silver ones, not the whole forks. I have a buddy that can rebuild forks, seen him fix some jacked-up ones after crashes. Can/would it be possible to order those from Europe?