Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Installing the graves set and in the instructions they don't say anything about leaving or removing the reed valves. What have the the rest of you done? I'm assuming I need the rubber gasket part left in but does it matter one way or the other if the system is inactive?

Thanks

·
Registered
418 Posts
Remove them. I installed mine but forgot to take the valve out. I removed them to do it right and could see where the valve hardware left a nice mark on the underside of the plate.

·
Super Moderator
5,762 Posts
I left mine in...but honestly don't know if that is technically correct or not. I can't imagine it hurting anything.....but I'm no expert and hopefully some others will come along and "enlighten" us whether it makes any difference or not.

·
Registered
418 Posts
If mine were touching on the underside I would say there's a very strong possibility of not getting a total seal. It may not cause any problems, but the correct way to do it on any bike is to remove them.

·
Registered
2,476 Posts
STG has an install video and they tell you not to remove anything except the cover...so I would take that to mean leave the valves in

video is here..... skip to 16:30 for the pertinent info

Reactions: gearsmasher

·
Registered
418 Posts
STG has an install video and they tell you not to remove anything except the cover...so I would take that to mean leave the valves in

video is here..... skip to 16:30 for the pertinent info

Its weird that in the video they do not show the 2 small screws that should be there on top of the valve. That is what will hit the block off plate.

·
Registered
418 Posts
You are correct. But having them make changing spark plugs 100x easier.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·