Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, .

New member here first post!:D

I installed a K&N air filter this afternoon and noticed a large snorkel like tube on the air box to allow the air flow into the box, my last bike (ZX6r) didn’t have anything like this. If I remove/shorten it will this help increase air flow/power gain? And has anyone else done this?? I’m a novice when it comes to mechanics but get a kick out of doing it myself.

Thanks,

·
Vendor
1,507 Posts
i cut mine flush and nothced out the front little plastic tank trim piece to make it a bit easier for air to get in, I did not do pre a post dyno runs but I do not see any way this can not help

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
My klx250 has a snorkel type of rig on the air box, and several people have done the "air box" mod for more air flow. But peoples opinions vary if it does any good, bad, or anything at all. Like fizzer said, without proper testing, there is no way to prove one way or another.

Reactions: Desert Rat

·
Registered
123 Posts
...noticed a large snorkel like tube on the air box to allow the air flow into the box ...
hmmm ... does it go upward? I'll have to go look at mine. I've been wondering how deep of a creek I could cross. On my KTM 950 I could do 36" streams. Here's pic of Matt finding out that 39" is too deep. We shifted 10' downstream and both of us crossed just fine

here's the video

·
Registered
2,330 Posts
Air boxes on most modern streetbikes are designed to mold the airflow so it is smooth and not very turbulent as the air enters the fuel injectors. This is referred to as a "still air" air box. It obviously is NOT actually "still air" but it does smooth out the airflow.

Cutting the snorkel off will cause turbulence and probably reduce the power output.