Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I am Gökhan from Istanbul/Turkey.
I've been riding motorcycle for 6 years(~70K km). I bought my MT09sp on August 26, 2021.

On Saturday, July 23, 2022, we went to the mountain roads we always go with my friends.
When I pressed the front brake, the motorcycle did not slow down (the front brake was empty).
I needed a little brake and the brake was empty, I panicked. I entered the bushes by the roadside (~80KM/h). Luckily there were no trees or stones or traffic sign in the bush. There is no difference in height with the road.

The front chassis of my motorcycle broke and fell on the ground. Damage increased tremendously (chassis, exhaust, radiator...). There was no bend in the handlebars and the brake/clutch etc.

Pictures of my motorcycle after the accident are as attached. There were no signs of impact on my front rim and tire (My tires are new and at about 1000km (Pirelli Rosso 4)).
My motorcycle was at 13.500 km. My motorcycle was serviced every 5K km.

It appears that the front brake hose is loose and is leaking hydraulics when applying the brakes.

On the day of the accident, I sent my motorcycle to the Yamaha Turkey dealer for inspection.
It's not normal for the front brake to be empty. Even though I didn't hit my motorcycle anywhere, it was not normal for the chassis to break.
Yamaha Turkey completed its investigation and reported that everything was normal (31 August 2022).

My health is fine.
I have a fracture (fibula) in my left ankle.

Thanks.

Automotive tire Motorcycle Automotive lighting Motor vehicle Automotive fuel system

Automotive tire Cameras & optics Camera accessory Rim Gas

Tire Wheel Fuel tank Vehicle Automotive fuel system

·
Administrator
3,164 Posts
Absolutely terrifying... Glad you're alive.

It appears that the front brake hose is loose and is leaking hydraulics when applying the brakes.