Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I recently put a K&N hi flow air filter, and new plugs in my bike, and now I am getting a very strange vibration in the motor. it can almost be felt at an idle on up. I don't think its the clutch basket bc I have felt that vibration on a friends 2014 fz-09 when his clutch basket exploded. Back to my bike... my ECU has been flashed ( I don't know if that has anything to do with it.) and I think all 3 cylinders are firing. I am new to the 3 cylinder world and in my neck of the woods there is not a lot of shops that have experience dealing with them.
To give the vibration a description it almost feels like a hula hoop that has a weight attached to it and its spun around. the more the revs the less pronounced. So my question is what could be causing the vibration. Could the ECU just need to reset with the new air flow? could something got off kilter with the Throttle bodies when I removed the air box? I should add that the temp never gets carried away.

I am in desperate need of advice as mentioned before I don't really have a trusted shop to take it to.
thank you for taking the time to help this poor rider out.

·
Registered
60 Posts
I would take it apart immediately and have a look around. If you don't see anything out of the ordinary I would put the stock filter back in it. I'm not a fan of K&N for multiple reasons.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would take it apart immediately and have a look around. If you don't see anything out of the ordinary I would put the stock filter back in it. I'm not a fan of K&N for multiple reasons.