Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello!

I wanted to post here, because in this cool thread: What bike are you coming from?, I posted:
1986 Yamaha Fazer...

Still have it, yet the FZ-09... oh my.
And Fairbanksdmt replied:
Love the 86 Phaser! Just curious how does the 09 compare to it?
Well... I wanted to share some photos... and my experience.

I started riding about 3-4 months ago.
First bike was a 1986 Yamaha Fazer (or Phazer... I am not sure how it's spelled!).
I bought it locally via the local online classified ads... the guy was asking $1,200... we settled quickly on $1,000
Here she is!
Land vehicle Vehicle Motorcycle Car Motor vehicle

I am very happy with this bike... very happy.
I have had to do various fixes to her... yet the original owner was 100% upfront and honest about everything regarding her.

Anyway... going forward:
I wanted the FZ-09... and waited since mid-October (when I left the deposit), until 1st week of January to get it.

And boy what a difference.
Remember I am a n00b, so my experience and feedback is very limited and filtered... yet here it goes:
With the FZ-09, I have appreciated all the things that are wrong with my beloved Fazer.
The front forks are a mess (they are leaking... and I have the seals and oil... yet I have to get around to actually do it. Yet having a FZ-09 asking for miles.... it's kinda hard to stop riding and do this).
The forks' oil has spilled on to the front brake pads and discs... so stopping is... interesting.

The carburetors, I am going to send to a guy in the states for full rebuild / tuning (OLDSKOOLCARBS FROM ROCK HILL, SC - Home .. ask for rick [email protected])
I cleaned them up the best I could... yet truth be told, at some point, a shitty mechanic worked on them and messed them up.
Bunch of stripped bolts, and two carburetor bodies that the jets wouldn't come out... so they drilled into them.