Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
The same site says the 2012 R1 does 3.0 seconds. I'm no expert but something tells the R1 is faster than the fz09. But I've been wrong before.

·
Registered
364 Posts
Appears the source is from Cycle World - 2.7 10.66.

·
Registered
127 Posts
The same site says the 2012 R1 does 3.0 seconds. I'm no expert but something tells the R1 is faster than the fz09. But I've been wrong before.
The 09 has lower gearing so its not surprising to have a faster 0-60, the R1 beats the 09 on the top.
I've seen dyno charts that show the 09 producing more HP up til about 9k then the 180 hp of the R1 takes off.

·
Registered
349 Posts
I have the 10 R1 (pretty much stock) and I have to say that the FZ-09 might be quicker off the line initially (the torque is insane) - so your numbers are very believable. I think the R1 gives a smoother power curve while the FZ-09 can give your everything at once. The R1 will run away as higher speeds are being sought.

2014 Yamaha FZ-09 Dyno Run Video

I can't tell you how much I love both those bikes (each are very special and very different). :)

Reactions: Steve101

·
Registered
3,008 Posts
I'm not a drag racing expert, but the 09 is very quick zero to 80 or 100mph etc. Way back in the early days of the 09 being owned in the States a forum member took his 09 to the drags and ran against that hot s*** BMW Superbike, the BMW won the 1/4 but was in danger of being embarrassed by the 09 in the 1/8 lol.

·
Registered
22 Posts