FZ-09 Suspension guidance needed
Close
Login to Your Account
Yamaha FZ-09 Forum

This is a discussion on FZ-09 Suspension guidance needed within the FZ-09 Performance & Suspension forums, part of the Yamaha FZ-09 Garage category; Hey everyone, So at the risk of sounding stupid I'll ask anyway. I'm new to riding so I don't have much experience with different suspensions. ...

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree96Likes

Thread: FZ-09 Suspension guidance needed

Member #

Hey everyone,
    So at the risk of sounding stupid I'll ask anyway. I'm new to riding so I don't have much experience with different suspensions. What exactly is wrong with the fZ 09s suspension I know that everyone says it is too soft but I haven't felt anything crazy. Maybe I just don't know what I'm looking for. Is it worth getting a new suspension or even adding the zx6r shock? Any advice would go a long way thanks in advance

Member #
    A novice rider probably isn't going to ride aggressively enough to notice, but to an experienced rider the suspension is crap for several reasons. It's been covered here ad nauseam. The springs are too soft for most adult males - I weight 180 lbs and had to take all the preload out of both ends to get the sag right. The rebound damping doesn't have enough adjustment so even at full hard they rebound too fast which turns the bike into a pogo stick on harsh roads and aggressive riding. The high speed compression damping is too harsh so bumps rattle the teeth. It's just an all-around awful suspension.