Speedo replacement?
Close
Login to Your Account
Yamaha FZ-09 Forum

Speedo replacement?

This is a discussion on Speedo replacement? within the FZ-09 Gear & Accessories forums, part of the Yamaha FZ-09 Garage category; has anyone thought of replacing the stock speedo with another unit? done it yet? been looking at the KOSO GP Style Multifunction, the only thing ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Speedo replacement?

  1. #1
    Senior Member thrstrmech's Avatar
    Member #
    5326
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Peoria, AZ
    Posts
    2,036

    Speedo replacement?

    has anyone thought of replacing the stock speedo with another unit? done it yet? been looking at the KOSO GP Style Multifunction, the only thing it doesn't have is the drive mode. still a nice unit, compact and would fit perfectly next to the ignition. DL-03SR GP Style Multifunction - Koso North America
    it's this or wait 'til the other 09 is available and buy the round speedo instead.

  2. #2
    Senior Member DacoSilver's Avatar
    Member #
    6362
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    542
    how would that work with the actual mileage on your bike, once you replace the original unit? is there a way to set the new one to the same mileage? if not, isn't it illegal to mess with the mileage on bikes/cars?

  3. #3
    Senior Member thrstrmech's Avatar
    Member #
    5326
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Peoria, AZ
    Posts
    2,036
    have never installed one so can't say if there is or isn't, could call them and find out before spending any cash. would think the engineer(s) involved thought of that, but I work with lots of engineers that are really smart and lack common sense. they live in a much different world

  4. Remove Advertisements
    FZ09.org
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member LouG's Avatar
    Member #
    5709
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    4,065
    When we ordered Harley speedos we supplied the mileage which they entered on the new one. I'd guess this would be the same. You won't fib now, will you?
    '14 MT 09
    Andreanni Cartridge kits
    Nitron Road and Track Shock
    Givi screen
    Renthal McGrath bend Bars.
    V1+YaV1 Licence protector
    Givi Soft bags w/ fabricated mounts.
    SW Motech Quicklock Tankbag.
    Kevxtx O2 Controller.
    Custom Chain Oiler
    El Cheapo Chinese levers.

  6. #5
    Senior Member DacoSilver's Avatar
    Member #
    6362
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    542
    silver one does look sexy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Speedo replacement?-dl-03sr_web.jpg  

  7. #6
    Senior Member thrstrmech's Avatar
    Member #
    5326
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Peoria, AZ
    Posts
    2,036
    about 2-1/2" diameter (2.48mm) actual, fits nicely next to the ignition and behind the Pyramid Plastics flyscreen, just saying...can already see the mounting bracket design, drop into bracket where the bezel rest on and a lower base mount with enough surface area for the two fixed threaded studs. the bracket would be mounted from the front of the triple clamp after being drilled and tapped. the stock mount points would be cut off the risers, area cleaned up and painted over. just a thought

  8. #7
    Senior Member Mothy's Avatar
    Member #
    554
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Newport, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,555
    Been thinking about the round one from the xsr... it may have a different pinout due to the traction control... will have to wait and see.
    From the land of chain saws and dump trucks...

  9. #8
    Senior Member thrstrmech's Avatar
    Member #
    5326
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Peoria, AZ
    Posts
    2,036
    that's fine and shouldn't affect the speedo, the ecu will not care since it's not programmed to look for the signal, it would simply be a "dummy" indicator on the cluster. more than likely the connector is the same, possibly with a few more sockets. unpinning and re-installation should be straight forward, simply would not have female terminal(s) to engage the pin(s) in the connector for that feature. would need the wiring diagram to ensure which wire does what and where it's position is in the connector.

  10. #9
    Senior Member JustWantToRide's Avatar
    Member #
    902
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    962
    Quote Originally Posted by DacoSilver View Post
    how would that work with the actual mileage on your bike, once you replace the original unit? is there a way to set the new one to the same mileage? if not, isn't it illegal to mess with the mileage on bikes/cars?
    It would only be illegal if you tried to represent t h at as the actual mileage. When you sell it - the title transfer will list the mileage and you need to have it state that it is not the actual mileage. It's just a box to check...

  11. #10
    Senior Member bobby walnuts's Avatar
    Member #
    102
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,806
    iirc, someone - maybe marthy - dynoed his bike with the instrument panel disconnected and power dropped to about 70hp. so there is some communication going on between the cluster and ecu. if you look on the wiring schematic you can see the wires. this was back in the early days when we were trying different things to try to defeat the speed limiter.

    you can put an aftermarket speedo or tach to supplement the stock cluster, but you can't remove it completely.
    Last edited by bobby walnuts; 11-28-2015 at 12:13 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Speedo Accuracy
    By RichBinAZ in forum FZ-09 General Discussion
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 04-08-2016, 08:07 PM
  2. Speedo Healer install help please
    By River in forum FZ-09 General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-21-2015, 07:00 PM
  3. speedo registers in reverse
    By trimoto in forum FZ-09 General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-29-2015, 10:39 PM
  4. Speedo stuck in km/g !! Help brothers...
    By Whalehung in forum Yamaha FZ-09 Common Problems/Issues
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-23-2014, 06:33 PM
  5. Speedo stuck in km/g !! Help brothers...
    By Whalehung in forum FZ-09 General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-26-2013, 05:51 PM

Search tags for this page

2016 yamaha xsr900 replacement speedometer
,
fz 09 cluster and ignition relocation
,
fz09 xsr 900 speedo
,
fz09 xsr dash swap
,

harley-davidson points ignition

,
xsr900 speedo on fz09
,
xsr900 speedometer not working
,

xsr900 speedometer on fz09

Click on a term to search for related topics.