Beginner in need of advice
Close
Login to Your Account
Yamaha FZ-09 Forum

This is a discussion on Beginner in need of advice within the FZ-09 General Discussion forums, part of the Yamaha FZ-09 Forums category; Hello all, You guys seem pretty experienced in riding motorcycles so I figured I'd ask for some advice. I'm brand new to motorcycles. The only ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Beginner in need of advice

Member #

Hello all,

You guys seem pretty experienced in riding motorcycles so I figured I'd ask for some advice. I'm brand new to motorcycles. The only experience I have on a bike is the MSF course I took to acquire my M1. That was a couple months ago. So, in the next month or two I plan on getting my first bike. I have a good down payment but plan on financing the rest. Maybe 3-4 years depending on the rate I can get. I don't want to get a 250cc because I'm afraid of getting bored of it quickly and don't want to be paying something off that I have no interest in anymore. I had my mind set on the new Honda CB500F because of all the great reviews it has gotten. But then I saw the FZ-09 and fell in love instantly. A little bit pricier but I think the quality is well worth it. My only concern is that it's an 850cc and I'm not sure if it's wise to start on such a powerful machine. Friends and family that ride have essentially told me the 500 is a good safe choice but I may get bored of it before its paid off. I would love more opinions. Thanks!

Super Moderator
    Supporting Member
    Member #
    "Murvil" TN.......18 miles from Deals Gap